The Issue

On June 25th, Canada’s Federal Department of Health published draft regulations outlining new packaging requirements for all tobacco products sold in Canada. These new requirements include traditional cigars. As proposed, these regulations under the new Bill called Bill S-5, will cause unnecessary harm and injury to independently owned and operated cigar stores and their suppliers across Canada.

Our industry is not the big tobacco companies that produce cigarettes. Our industry, specialist tobacco product, is made up of cigar stores that are small family owned businesses. We sell these hand made products crafted by women and men in the developing world to adults here in Canada. Health Canada acknowledges that if their Bill is implemented fully, more than fifty percent of the cigars currently available in Canada will disappear from our shelves as most manufacturers will refuse or be unable to comply with the new rules due to cost.

Traditional cigars account for less than .01% of the tobacco products sold in Canada but are almost 100% of the business of Canada’s cigar shops. This new legislation, if passed without an exemption for specialist tobacco product, will cause unnecessary loss of jobs in Canada, and in the small factories making these products in Honduras, Nicaragua, Cuba, Mexico and the Dominican Republic.

The Better Cigar Plan

There is a better way to address the tobacco issues regulated in Health Canada’s Bill S-5: it is the Better Cigar Plan. The Better Cigar Plan achieves the aims of Health Canada’s legislation while insuring collateral damage to the traditional cigar industry is entirely avoided. We have until September 6th, 2018 to make our collective voices heard during what is called the Consultation Period.

The Better Cigar Plan adopts the British model for plain packaging. The Better Cigar Plan would ask that specialist tobacco products be exempt from Bill S-5. Britain exempted traditional cigars from their legislation because they realized that cigars have no appeal to youth. In doing so, health authorities in Britain managed to enforce Plain and Standardized Packaging on 99% of their tobacco market without causing unnecessary harm to the cigar industry in the UK.

We aim to achieve the same, insuring that small family-run enterprises across Canada would be spared the disastrous effects of this legislation.

We need your help

We have drafted a letter that we need you to send to your local MP. Not sure who that is exactly or how to get ahold of them? We’ve got you covered!

Select your province from the dropdown below, then select your city. This will give you a list of your local MPs. Click on one of them and it will open up your email a new message which you can edit or send as is.

Once you've selected your province and city from the dropdown lists below, click on the email address of the MP you'd like to send the letter to and your email program should open with the pre-populated email for your MP. Be sure to sign your name at the bottom of the email.

If you use a web-based email (like gmail) or are having issues or and want to just copy and paste the email info, click here.

Please select whichever is applicable:

Retailer Consumer
Blake Richards
Arnold Viersen
Blaine Calkins
Martin Shields
DarshanSingh Kang
Stephanie Kusie
Deepak Obhrai
Michelle Rempel
Kevin Sorenson
Ziad Aboultaif
Randy Boissonnault
Matt Jeneroux
Kelly McCauley
Amarjeet Sohi
David Yurdiga
Chris Warkentin
Rachael Harder
Earl Dreeshen
Garnett Genuis
Michael Cooper
Shannon Stubbs
Kennedy Stewart
Rachel Blaney
Wayne Stetski
Carla Qualtrough
Alistair MacGregor
Sheila Malcolmson
Jonathan Wilkinson
Richard Cannings
Joe Peschisolido
Elizabeth May
Nathan Cullen
Sukh Dhaliwal
Randeep Sarai
HarjitS. Sajjan
Jody Wilson-Raybould
Randall Garrison
Murray Rankin
Pam Goldsmith-Jones
Kirsty Duncan
Larry Maguire
Robert Sopuck
Candice Bergen
Daniel Blaikie
Doug Eyolfson
Kevin Lamoureux
MaryAnn Mihychuk
Robert-Falcon Ouellette
RenÈ Arseneault
Serge Cormier
T.J. Harvey
Matt DeCourcey
Alaina Lockhart
Ginette PetitpasTaylor
Dominic LeBlanc
Gudie Hutchings
Churence Rogers
Seamus O'Regan
Michael McLeod
Bernadette Jordan
Darren Fisher
Rodger Cuzner
Darrell Samson
Andy Fillmore
Hunter Tootoo
K.Kellie Leitch
John Brassard
Erin O'Toole
Ramesh Sangha
Phil McColeman
Tracey Ramsey
Borys Wrzesnewskyj
Michael Chong
Lloyd Longfield
David Christopherson
Filomena Tassi
Peter VanLoan
Karen McCrimmon
Mark Gerretsen
Harold Albrecht
Marwan Tabbara
Dave VanKesteren
Jamie Schmale
Peter Fragiskatos
Irene Mathyssen
Pierre Poilievre
Bruce Stanton
Omar Alghabra
Navdeep Bains
Peter Fonseca
Sven Spengemann
Kyle Peterson
Rob Nicholson
Andrew Leslie
David McGuinty
Catherine McKenna
Anita Vandenbeld
Cheryl Gallant
Maryam Monsef
Jennifer O'Connell
Leona Alleslev
Majid Jowhari
Francis Drouin
Marilyn Gladu
Terry Sheehan
Karen Vecchio
Jane Philpott
Paul Lefebvre
Charlie Angus
Gary Anandasangaree
Carolyn Bennett
Julie Dabrusin
Julie Dzerowicz
Nathaniel Erskine-Smith
Chrystia Freeland
Michael Levitt
James Maloney
Marco Mendicino
Robert Oliphant
Yasmin Ratansi
JudyA. Sgro
Marc SerrÈ
Mona Fortier
Deborah Schulte
Bardish Chagger
Vance Badawey
Celina Caesar-Chavannes
Cheryl Hardcastle
Francesco Sorbara
Dave MacKenzie
Lawrence MacAulay
Robert Morrissey
MarilËne Gill
Linda Lapointe
Alexandra MendËs
Matthew DubÈ
Brenda Shanahan
Richard Martel
Jean-Claude Poissant
Richard HÈbert
FranÁois Choquette
StÈphane Lauzon
Steven MacKinnon
Pierre Breton
Diane Lebouthillier
Sherry Romanado
Gabriel Ste-Marie
Karine Trudel
FayÁal El-Khoury
Angelo Iacono
Yves Robillard
Steven Blaney
Jacques Gourde
Pierre Nantel
RuthEllen Brosseau
Denis Paradis
RÈmi MassÈ
Luc ThÈriault
Bernard GÈnÈreux
Anthony Housefather
MÈlanie Joly
David Lametti
HÈlËne LaverdiËre
Thomas Mulcair
Pablo Rodriguez
Justin Trudeau
Mario Beaulieu
Alexandre Boulerice
Marjolaine Boutin-Sweet
Emmanuel Dubourg
Francis Scarpaleggia
JoÎl Lightbound
Pierre Paul-Hus
GÈrard Deltell
Jean-Yves Duclos
Monique PauzÈ
Christine Moore
JoÎl Godin
Michel Picard
Maxime Bernier
Brigitte Sansoucy
RhÈal Fortin
Emmanuella Lambropoulos
Nicola DiIorio
DaviddeBurgh Graham
AnneMinh-Thu Quach
FranÁois-Philippe Champagne
Marie-Claude Bibeau
Pierre-Luc Dusseault
Louis Plamondon
Sylvie Boucher
Michel Boudrias
Romeo Saganash
Xavier Barsalou-Duval
Peter Schiefke
Robert Kitchen
Andrew Scheer
Georgina Jolibois
Rosemarie Falk
Ralph Goodale
David Anderson
Cathay Wagantall
Larry Bagnell

Please consider sharing this with others by clicking one of the options below.

Get in touch with us

Have questions or need more information? Please email us at You can also reach out to us or follow us on Facebook, Instagram & Twitter.